Number of simultaneous tests

Need new test, action, option? Post request here.
Post Reply
Arun

Number of simultaneous tests

Post by Arun »

Hi Alex

Is it possible to have an option to execute only 'n' number of tests at any time? Any other scheduled tests ready to be executed should wait till the previous lot is finished.

I have a situation where approx. 150 tests need to get executed at the same time with an action 'execute external program'. The command line is 'xcopy' which copies a file between two locations and it takes 2 to3 minutes to finish per test. I am facing a problem with that many simultaneous xcopy sessions and would like them going in batches of say 20 or so.

Highly appreciate a solution.

Thanks,
Arun
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Option located on Behavior page in the Options dialog:
Don't start more than [N] tests per second
HostMonitor is multi-threaded so it can test many hosts simultaneously. This parameter defines how many tests per second the program will start.

Regards
Alex
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

PS However this option does not effect actions. If each test needs 2-3 sec but each action needs 2-3 min, after few seconds all actions will be started..
Do not see good solution... May be start some actions after 2nd, 3rd "bad" result?

Regards
Alex
Arun

Post by Arun »

Alex,

Thanks a lot. I am trying my best not to have multiple action profiles. I got another idea. Since the action kicks off an 'xcopy', many xcopy processes would be running sumultaneously. So, have defined a 'Process' test which runs every 5 seconds and sets status 'Bad' if more than 'n' number of xcopy sessions running. And this test would serve as a 'Master' test for all those tests.

I am tyring this at the moment. Your comments are most welcome.

Regards,
Arun
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

I think its a good idea.

Another posible solution use some mutex object. E.g. BAT file that starts xcopy can create flag before executing xcopy and remove this flag after xcopy execution.
E.g.

Code: Select all

:begin
sleep 100
if exist c:\xcopyflag.txt goto begin
echo >c:\xcopyflag.txt
xcopy .....
del c:\xcopyflag.txt
sleep is simple command that should suspend execution for specified time (otherwise BAT file will spend too much CPU resources). Its not standard command, but if you want to use this method, I can create this utility...

Regards
Alex
Guest

Post by Guest »

It is working fine now with that idea. I have defined a 'process' test and set status 'bad' for > 16 sessions and this runs every 3 seconds. This test is a master for all those 140 tests.

Will observe it for few more days and will revert if I need further help.

Alex.. thanks a lot for the excellent support. :)

Regards,
Arun
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

You are welcome :)
Post Reply