Shell Script Test not working on Solaris 9

Remote Monitoring Agent for Linux, FreeBSD, and other UNIX-like platforms.
Post Reply
groggi
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:24 pm

Shell Script Test not working on Solaris 9

Post by groggi »

I tried all the sample scripts provided but they all fail with:

Agent error: Cannot read data

Then I wrote a HelloWorld script like this:

#!/bin/sh
echo "scriptres:Ok:HelloWorld"

This one works fine:

- Status: Ok
- Reply: HelloWorld

I already checked the timeout issue but since timeout is set to 120 sec there must be another reason for this...

If anyone has a hint why the other scripts, i.e. "SYSTEM: Swap free" do not work I would be more than happy!

Thanks
Sven

PS: It looks like it is not possible to use scripts with more than about 145 bytes with unix rma. I put the script directly on the solaris machine and wrote a wrapper script with just a few bytes. This works for the moment but it can only be an interim solution since the deployment/update of the scripts is not very handy like this.
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

I have tested agent on our Solaris 9 system, works fine. I have checked code and have just one possible explanation - you are using agent that was compiled with wrong _BYTE_ORDER option.
What exactly agent do you use? We have many agents on our server, could you provide download link? Probably you have compiled agent by yourself?
You are using Intel system or SPARC system?

Regards
Alex
groggi
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:24 pm

Post by groggi »

We have solaris 9 on SPARC machines.

Which is the current rma to use on this platform? Where can we get it from?
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

We have binary RMA 0.80 for SPARC. Available at http://www.ks-soft.net/hostmon.eng/downpage.htm
If you have gcc compiler, you may recompile latest version 1.20. Just send request to support@ks-soft.net and we provide source codes.
Or if you can provide telnet access to your SPARC system, we can recompile agent for you.

Regards
Alex
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

PS. RMA 1.00 for Solaris (SPARC) recompiled by David Edwards available at http://www.hostmonitor.biz/download/rma_sparc.zip

Regards
Alex
groggi
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:24 pm

Post by groggi »

I downloaded this but the executable binary file "rma" is missing.
Do I have to compile bymyself or what is the actual application binary?
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

There is rma_s binary module in this package

Regards
Alex
groggi
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:24 pm

Post by groggi »

I tried this but only get this error message:

ld.so.1: ./rma_s: fatal: libstdc++.so.4: open failed: No such file or directory
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

Quote from the manual:
"rma_s" module uses run-time linking with libstdc++ and libgcc libraries. It means that you need 2 additional libraries: libgcc and libstdc++ that are available at sunfreeware.com. Since these files constitute a part of the gcc package, you may not need to install it if you already have gcc 3.3 installed.
Regards
Alex
groggi
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:24 pm

Post by groggi »

Hi Alex,

Sorry - I dod not see that in the manual...

Anyway:

We have installed gcc 3.41:

root@hs2pqman2-/usr/local/lib# pkginfo|grep gcc
application SMCgcc342 gcc

Since libgcc is included in gcc packages I think this should be enough.

Would it be possible to use this newer version instead of installing the older 3.3?
KS-Soft
Posts: 12821
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by KS-Soft »

I think you may use newer version. Just create link that points to existing library using standard UNIX command "ln". I think its better to create symbolic link (using "-s" option) instead of hard link.

Regards
Alex
groggi
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:24 pm

Post by groggi »

Hi Alex,

This seams to work now.

However I will drop an email request for the source code of 1.20.

Thanks
Sven
Post Reply